Need a Copy of Your Car Accident Report From the Clearwater Police Department?
Being in a car accident in Clearwater can be traumatic for everyone involved. Besides dealing with a damaged vehicle and injuries, the questions and issues you face after an accident can be overwhelming. Fortunately, you can obtain a copy of your accident report in Clearwater that contains all information from the crash. You can use this report to file a claim against the at-fault driver and report it to your insurance company. If you don’t already have one, you can file a police report in Clearwater. We’ll now walk you through how to get your Clearwater accident police report.
Here’s How to Get a Copy of Your Clearwater Accident Police Report:
There are a few different ways to get your Clearwater police report near you: online, by mail, and in person.
Online: Request your Clearwater police crash report online.
Visit the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles’ site to submit a request. Clearwater accident reports cost $10.00 each, with a $2.00 online convenience fee. The site limits you to a maximum of 10 reports per transaction.
When requesting the Clearwater accident report online, you’ll get instant access to it. Make sure to check your email for the download link and download the crash report within 48 hours. The report comes as a ZIP file with PDF(s).
If you can’t find your report in the system, it may be because the crash happened in the last 10 days. Law enforcement has 10 days to submit crash reports.
You can pay for the Clearwater accident report online using Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express.
Note that FLHSMV says, “After 60 days the crash report is filed, the crash report may be made available to any person or entity eligible to access crash reports under 316.066(2)(b), Fla. Stat., or in accordance with any of the permissible uses listed in the Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA), 18 U.S.C. s. 2721(b) and pursuant to the resale and redisclosure requirements in 18 U.S.C. s. 2721(c).”
By Mail: Request your Clearwater police department accident report by mail.
To get a Clearwater police report by mail, complete this signed statement (PDF; HSMV Form 94010).
You must include payment with your request. If using check or money order, they should be made out to “FLHSMV”.
If you’re asking for more than 10 accident records, you “must include a request letter detailing the crash report you are requesting, a signed statement, for each crash report requested”
Mail the request to:
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 28
Tallahassee, FL 32399
It can take 4-6 weeks for the request to be processed.
If you’ve recently suffered injuries because of a car accident in Clearwater, it’s in your best interest to have your case reviewed by a legal professional. You may be entitled to damages, and a Clearwater car accident lawyer can help you understand your best course of action.
In Person: Request your Clearwater police accident report in-person.
If you’re requesting fewer than 10 accident reports, you can request your Clearwater police accident report at the Florida Highway Patrol (FHP) Troop Station nearest to where the crash occurred. The nearest location for a Clearwater accident is either 6855 62nd Ave N, Pinellas Park, FL 33781 (phone: 727-217-8820) or 11305 N. McKinley Dr., Tampa, FL 33612 (phone: 813-558-1800), depending on where the accident specifically happened. Make sure to check business hours before visiting.
What Information is in Clearwater Accident Reports?
Police officers create accident reports at the scene of the accident. They are that officer’s account of the accident as well as any other observations.
Clearwater police department accident reports contain essential information such as:
- Date, time, and location of the crash;
- Parties involved in the crash;
- Insurance information for those involved;
- If a ticket was administered, and if so, to whom and for what violation;
- Weather conditions at the time of the crash;
- Damage done to vehicles;
- Injuries to people involved; and
- Any other relevant information.
Get a copy of your Clearwater police report right away after a collision. By doing so, you can see what the reporting officer observed and concluded about the accident.
Florida car accident reports are confidential for 60 days after the accident.
In an accident on a Florida highway? Check out our guide to getting your Florida Highway Patrol accident reports online.
How Can My Clearwater Police Accident Reports Be Used?
Contact a Clearwater Accident Lawyer for a Free Case Review
If you have been in a car accident in Clearwater, we are here to help. Our experienced Clearwater auto accident injury lawyers can answer any questions you have about obtaining your accident report. To speak with one of our lawyers at Abrahamson & Uiterwyk, contact us today.