What Happens if You’re Injured in an Uber Accident?Trusted Content
Legally reviewed by:Erik Abrahamson, J.D. November 22, 2018
Rideshare companies, such as Lyft and Uber, have become increasingly popular in Florida over the last several years. They are a convenient way of getting around, but with increased rideshare use, come rideshare accidents. When it comes to rideshare accidents, sometimes determining who is liable can become a complex situation.
How Rideshare Works?
Unlike traditional taxicabs, in order to use a rideshare service,you need to download an app and arrange for pickup. Rideshare drivers are typically not licensed chauffeurs and use their own vehicles when transporting passengers. Drivers are considered independent contractors and not actual employees of the companies for which they drive. Drivers decide when and how long they want to drive. Payment for rides is made through the rideshare app.
Rideshare in Florida
Florida law requires all vehicle owners to carry a minimum amount of car insurance. The minimum required is $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 in property damage liability insurance (PDL). In the case of rideshare drivers, Florida law requires more than the minimum. Rideshare drivers are required to have a minimum of $50,000 in liability insurance per person and $100,000 per incident, in addition to $25,000 in property damage coverage. This coverage applies while a rideshare driver is logged into the rideshare app and waiting to connect with a passenger. Florida law additionally requires $1 million in liability insurance which applies when a rideshare driver is either driving to pick up a new passenger or dropping a passenger off at their destination.
If you are the passenger in an Uber or Lyft and become injured in an accident, you should be covered by the rideshare liability policy. The coverage should protect you even if your driver was not at fault for the accident. This insurance would also cover anyone outside the vehicle that is injured by the rideshare vehicle while a passenger is being transported, if the driver is found at fault.
When you are involved in a rideshare accident, liability and insurance claims can be complex and confusing. Chances are you’re not only dealing with the rideshare company’s insurance but also possibly with the driver’s insurance and your own insurance.
Contact a Trusted Attorney
If you’ve been injured in a rideshare accident, an experienced attorney can help you navigate the complicated insurance issues. Contact the trusted lawyers at Abrahamson & Uiterwyk online or call us at 1-855-293-5630 to schedule your free consultation.