The Definitive Guide to Florida Car Accident Laws
The laws governing auto accidents in Florida should be thoroughly understood by all Florida drivers. As well as preventing future car accidents, familiarizing themselves with these laws will also provide drivers with information regarding liability and compensation in the event that a car accident occurs. In addition, millions of motorists are on Florida roads every day, and accidents occur regularly, so understanding what to do after a car accident and how the law may affect a claim is imperative. The following is what Florida drivers need to know about the applicable legal guidelines in Florida concerning car accidents. The facts about Florida car accident laws are very helpful for new drivers or for those who completed a driver education course years in the past.
Abrahamson & Uiterwyk’s team of attorneys located throughout the Tampa Bay area are prepared to examine your case and provide guidance. Visit one of our bay area offices to find an attorney skilled in Florida car accident laws with extensive local experience.
- Tampa Car Accident Lawyers
- Lakeland Car Accident Lawyers
- Clearwater Car Accident Lawyers
- St. Petersburg Car Accident Lawyers
- New Port Richey Car Accident Lawyers
- Palm Harbor Car Accident Lawyers
- Sarasota Car Accident Lawyers
- Spring Hill Car Accident Lawyers
- Pinellas Park Car Accident Lawyers
- Town ‘n’ Country Car Accident Lawyers
- Brandon FL Car Accident Lawyers
Florida Car Accident Insurance Laws
It is important to remember that Florida is a “no-fault” state, which means that each person’s insurance company is responsible for covering their own accident expenses, regardless of who was at fault. By filing a lawsuit for personal injury, victims may be able to recover additional damages if an accident causes more damages or injuries than their insurance policy covers.
According to Florida Statute 324.021, all motor vehicles registered in the state are required to have a minimum amount of insurance coverage of $10,000 to cover any damage they may cause. The minimum coverage requirement is referred to as PIP insurance, which does not constitute full coverage. Although this law exists, not all motorists adhere to it. Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles reported over 503,000 suspensions of financial responsibility in 2011-12. Due to this, more than half a million motorists have had their driving privileges suspended as a result of driving without adequate insurance or without having any insurance at all.
Drivers should immediately report any accident to their insurance company. Upon receiving all the information detailed in the crash report or any existing police report, the driver’s insurance company will determine fault for the accident.
Florida Car Accident Laws Pertaining to Reporting Car Accidents
While driving on Florida roadways, drivers are always at risk of being involved in a car accident, even if they are practicing proper road safety tips. As a result of this, drivers may wonder what their legal obligations are. In Florida, if any of the following occurs, drivers are required to report the accident to the Florida Highway Patrol, sheriff, or local police immediately:
- Death or injury
- Hit & run accident
- Accident caused by intoxication
- Property damage is worth more than $500
The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) must also be notified within 10 days of the accident if a driver is involved in a car accident in Florida.
It is mandatory for drivers to remain at the scene of the accident if there have been injuries or damage to property. Additionally, all parties must exchange information (name, address, registration number of vehicles involved). Despite not being required by law, drivers should also write down the names and contact information of any witnesses who saw the accident occur. In addition, weather conditions and road conditions are other important details that should be noted.
Be sure to take pictures of all vehicles involved in the accident so that the driver’s insurance company can receive them with the accident report. There should not be any admission of fault on the driver’s behalf, or any explicit blame placed on the other driver in the report.
Florida Car Accident Laws Pertaining to Comparative Fault
Florida is a modified comparative negligence state. This means that if you are found to be no more than 50% at fault for the accident, your recovery is reduced by the same proportion as your percentage of fault. As an example, if you are found to be 20% at fault in an accident, you may still recover 80% of your damages in a lawsuit. If, however, your percentage of fault is found to be more than 50%, you are barred from any recovery under the law.
Car Accident Statute of Limitations in Florida
The first priority after being involved in a car accident in Florida is obviously to obtain medical treatment for a driver’s injuries and to arrange vehicle repair. In the aftermath of a car accident, after dealing with the immediate problems of recovery, it can be difficult to focus on pursuing financial compensation from the driver or party at fault for the accident. It is important to note, however, that the driver has a limited period of time in which to file a lawsuit in order to pursue a car accident claim. This period is set forth in Florida’s Statute of Limitations. If the driver does not file their claim within the statute of limitations period, they will be forever barred from pursuing their claim.
Call Us to Discuss Your Florida Car Accident Injury
If you’ve been injured in a car accident, you owe it to yourself to find excellent legal representation. We’ve helped thousands of clients recover hundreds of millions of dollars over the past 30 years.
We can’t represent everyone, but we help everyone we can. Call us for a free consultation. We’ll review your case and let you know if we can give you the legal representation you deserve.
What Our Happy Clients Say About Us on Google
What Our Clients Say About Us On Google:
Florida Injury Case Types
The highly-experienced Florida personal injury law firm of Abrahamson & Uiterwyk provides:
- Car accident lawyers in Florida
- Guide to Florida Car Accident Law
- Motorcycle accident lawyers in Florida
- Slip & fall lawyers in Florida
- Truck accident lawyers in Florida
- Bicycle accident lawyers in Florida
- Brain injury lawyers in Florida
- Birth injury lawyers in Florida
- Pedestrian accident lawyers in Florida
- Florida Red Light Car Accident Settlement Lawyers
- Construction accident lawyers in Florida
- Wrongful death lawyers in Florida
- Actos injury lawyers in Florida
- Boating accident lawyers in Florida
- Business interruption insurance lawyers in Florida
- Defective drugs medical device lawyers in Florida
- Dog bite lawyers in Florida
- Drunk driving accident lawyers in Florida
- Insurance disputes lawyers in Florida
- Medical malpractice lawyers in Florida
- Metal hip knee implant lawyers in Florida
- Nursing home abuse lawyers in Florida
- Product liability lawyers in Florida
- Work injury / workers comp lawyers in Florida